Home > Think Tank > How to Stop Letting Microsoft Use Your PC for File Sharing
June 7, 2016

How to Stop Letting Microsoft Use Your PC for File Sharing

Microsoft is all about Windows Updates lately. Between forcing Windows 10 updates on everyone, and generally doing a lot to make its users mad with the way updates are handled, it seems like we need to spend more time figuring out to fight updates than using our PC.

One place Microsoft is attempting to make Windows Update more streamlined is by having users share their connection with others to speed updating through P2P.

For most users, this isn’t anything they’ll notice or have a problem with, but for anyone with limited Internet where they pay for their bandwidth, it can be a real problem! Fortunately, you can turn it off! Here’s how it’s done.

First, head to Settings then Update & Security. From there, go to Windows Update on the left menu, then click Advanced Options under the Update settings area.

Now, under the Updates from more than one place section, turn the toggle to off. Now, when you update, you will not receive updates from other users, nor will you send data for their updates.

Source from: makeuseof
0 0
comments powered by Disqus

WHY CHOOSE WISECLEANER?

60-Day Money Back Guarantee

Try before you buy with a free trial – and even after your purchase, you're still covered by our 60-day, no-risk guarantee.

Secure Online Payment

We value your privacy and protect your financial and personal data with full encryption and advanced fraud protection.

7 X 24 SUPPORT SERVICE

Knowledgeable representatives available to assist you through email response within 24 hours.